January 3

Today was a strange day for me… with a lot of ups and downs. I normally would focus on the downs and the negative but I can actually take these and turn them into positives.

Today was spent with a lot of thoughts about my dad. Even the little things today took me by surprise and made me think of him. And while I would normally get lost in the sadness and grief of him not being here, today I was able to just think of the happy memories I have.

So for today, I am thankful that I got to spend 23 years and a few months with my dad. It allowed me the time to make great memories that I will forever treasure. Some of my most favorites are the Dayton AirShows we would go to just the two of us, going to the Air & Space Museum in Wapakoneta, the chats we would have when I was in Spain, IMing with him while I was overseas, struggling to understand his shorthand when he started texting,
calling to talk about the OSU football games, him being at my boot camp graduation, and so many others. It’s these memories that help to solidify in my mind that I was loved, he was and is proud of me, and I’ll forever be his baby gril (how he would text it to me). I love and miss you so much daddy, I can’t wait until I can see you again on those streets of gold. Save me a seat!!

20130103-214707.jpg

Leave a Reply

