January 31

Today I am so thankful today for the amazing women I call my grandmas and the amazing woman I call my aunt. These women aren’t my blood but I would be hard set to find another group of loving women or women that I love like family. These women came today and today helped to relieve some of my moving anxiety by helping to pack most of the house and then move the stuff to the new place. I don’t think I could have done half of what they did today in two weeks. These are the same women that are there to listen to me ramble about whatever may be on my mind or in my heart. It’s so nice to have that again… it makes me think of my grandpa Rodgers and how we would talk on the phone or when I would visit with him. He and my grandma Rodgers were the only grandparents I knew growing up. Those are some of the very good memories and I hope I never lose them.

Grandma Rodgers on Christmas Eve 1990

Grandma Rodgers on Christmas Eve 1990

Grandpa Rodgers in the summer of 1994

Grandpa Rodgers in the summer of 1994

But anyways…. I could go on forever about them and memories in general. Treasure your loved ones. You never know when something could change in a heartbeat. A year ago today, the world lost an amazing young woman and bright light. Ashley Vance could make you feel included and a part of things even if you knew you were truly an outsider. She was doing great things with her life and touched so many lives including those of her students. Ashley, you may be gone from this world… but you will never be forgotten.

Ashley Danyelle Vance May 1, 1987 - January 31, 2012

Ashley Danyelle Vance May 1, 1987 – January 31, 2012

Leave a Reply

