If you ever read this….

Friday morning in the middle of the night (I think it was around 3:45) I had woken up and decided to check Facebook before I fell back asleep. Little did I know that I wouldn’t be going back to sleep. I read some of the most disturbing and heartbreaking news. A friend had just become a widow and was suffering unbearable pain. I never had the pleasure of meeting the man that swept her off her feet, but I saw the change in her and it was powerful. This young man was a son, brother, husband, friend, soldier, and so many other titles to people I’m sure.

To read the pain in her Facebook statuses since that moment, has been absolutely heart wrenching. What do you do/say for/to someone who just lost their everything? I can’t imagine having to experience that pain.

Now I know why this is affecting me how it is… first of all, I know this young woman and have spent time at school together. Secondly, three extremely important men to me experience similar stress in their everyday lives and I know that it takes a toll on everyone living the military life.

It is so disheartening to learn of the passing of anyone young, but so much more so when there is a personal connection on some level.

To this young woman, if you ever happen across this, please don’t ever forget that you are loved by so many people. You are a strong, beautiful, and smart woman and while you will never forget and will still experience some pain when you think of him… it will eventually become somewhat manageable. It will happen in its own time when you are ready for it. Nobody has the right to tell you to “move on” or “just get over it”. You have every right to grieve for as long as you need to. Don’t be afraid to ask for help from people now and in the future. And most importantly, don’t lose that smile and light in your eyes… make sure that comes back when you’re ready.

Leave a Reply

