Forever a student?

Many people have been here I’m sure… you’ve graduated high school, graduated college, maybe spent time in the military (or traveling) and then start to question, now what?

Most people can’t find their dream job or even a job in their chosen field right out of college unless they are in a high demand field like nursing, IT, etc. Some people have degrees that require some sort of graduate work if they want a nice entry level or higher job and not be at a grunt job.

Then there’s people like me. I could seriously forever be a student. There is so much that I want to learn about still and study at a college in depth level that I wish I could spend my time doing that. I would love to spend hours studying history, geology, meteorology, more psychology (since I already have a degree in that), literature, and yes I’ll say it… even more math. I’m not sure when this shift happened… I wasn’t a great student in high school (wasn’t even in the top 15% of my class of almost 400). I joined the military which I know is a blessing because I didn’t have to dedication to be on my own away at school. I wasn’t even that dedicated in the classes I took while I was in active duty. I struggled for the grades I got in the first quarter at Ohio State but then it was like this switch got flipped in my brain the second quarter that summer and it wasn’t that hard. Of course I still had to work for the grades I got, but I was self motivated for the first time in a long time. I spent hours doing homework, writing papers, and studying that I would have scoffed at before. And I miss it, so much!

I, at some point over my three years at OSU, became a sponge for knowledge that still wants to soak up everything it can. So I’m doing it… I’m taking a course to get a certificate in HR as a way point until my master’s. Not just to get that entry level job that I was talking about earlier, but to also get to LEARN, STUDY, and work on homework again for the next 3 to 6 months once everything gets going.

I can’t wait for this to start and to see where the new journey takes me and the direction in my life it leads. Maybe this will help me decide what I want to be when I grow up? One can only hope! 😊

Leave a Reply

